Albania elected as non-permanent member of the Security Council, Xhaçka: This is a historical achievement for the Albanian diplomacy

Albania has been elected for the first time as a non-permanent member of the UN Security Council for the 2022-2023 term.

Present during the voting process, the Minister for Europe and Foreign Affairs, Olta Xhaçka, stated that this is a historical moment and extraordinary opportunity for Albania.

 “It’s official! For the next two years, Albania is a member of the UN Security Council. A historical opportunity and an excellent achievement for the Albanian diplomacy! Gratefulness to all for the support!”, said the chief diplomat on social networks.

Minister Xhaçka stressed that the support for Albania’s candidacy is a prime confirmation of the respect and credibility that Albania enjoys today, as a pillar for regional stability, as an exporter of security in peacekeeping missions and as a stability and constructive factor in all international forums where the country contributes.

 “The fact is that this historical opportunity comes along with great responsibilities. We are aware of the need for realistic expectations for what we can achieve in the Security Council. We are also optimistic that a lot can be achieved based on a good working plan, clearly set objectives and an earnest preparation for taking on the seat at the UN Security Council. At present, preparations are ongoing and we are soon finalizing the team that shall be representing Albania – with the best diplomats selected from the foreign service and top experts from outside the foreign service being part of what we have named the Security Council ‘dream team’!”, said the Minister after the voting process.

Albania was elected as UN Security Council non-permanent member with the support of 175 UN member states, while 190 countries took part in the voting. This decision marks the first time for Albania being selected over its 65 years of membership in the United Nations.

The United Nations Security Council is among the most important bodies of the United Nations mandated to maintain peace and security between nations.

Albania, Brazil, Gabon, Ghana and the United Arab Emirates (UAE) participated in these elections without other candidacies from the respective regions of the five countries. In order to be elected, each candidate country is to secure at least two-thirds of the votes of UN member states.

Candidate countries will replace the five current non-permanent members: Estonia, Nigeria, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Tunisia and Vietnam. New members start their mandate on 1 January 2022, serving as non-permanent members until 31 December 2023.

Postal Address

Plateia “Arch.Spyridonas”, 13, Odos “Anastasiou Zini”,
12, T.K. 45444, Ioannina, Greece

Tel / Fax

Tel. +30 26510 21330 +30 26510 22636
Fax. +30 26510 37768
Nr. i emergjences: +306971533398



Monday to Friday
09:00 - 17:00